Author Topic: It's Crap! Should I finish???  (Read 10763 times)

Offline blgarver

• Conversationalist
  • There are three things all wise men fear...
    • View Profile
    • Video Samples
It's Crap! Should I finish???
« on: September 12, 2008, 02:33:01 PM »
So I'm in the final battle scene of this monstrosity of a fantasy/horror novel I've been working on for almost 3 years now.  This thing began as a one page romp, just to break the monotony of my office job.  It spread like a rash, and now I'm 400+ pages into it, and nearly finished.

I'm losing steam though.  Because i was writing by the seat of my pants, many of the scenes seem forced to me.  It is very apparent that I had no idea where the story was going.  I like the overall story, and some of the characters are good, but the book is so meandering and disjointed that it's just depressing to think about.

My plan is to use this as a rough draft/treatement, and go back after for a restructuring and a serious rewrite.  I feel I should finish this thing, get the rough draft to its completion, but I'm so disinterested in the thing as it exists right now.  At this point I'm just putting words on the page to get the thing done, and everything is coming out half-assed and lame.

I'm sure everyone has been in a spot like this before.  What did you do?  Finish the crap draft just to tie up the lose ends before the rewrite?  Or set it aside and begin restructuring instead of putting a lot of time into the few final chapters?

I'm trying to get this thing to a stopping point by the beginning of October so i can have that entire month to write a treatment of my Nano novel.
I'm a videographer by trade.  Check out my work if you're a writer that needs to procrastinate.  Not as good as Rhett and Link, but I do what I can.
http://vimeo.com/user1855060/videos

Offline meg_evonne

• Posty McPostington
  • With an eye made quiet by the power of harmony
    • View Profile
Re: It's Crap! Should I finish???