Author Topic: PC Balancing Issues - Need Advice  (Read 10627 times)

Offline Theogony_IX

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
PC Balancing Issues - Need Advice
« on: August 08, 2014, 09:47:00 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to RPGs and new to GMing, but I think I've got a fairly good grasp on the game rules and mechanics.  The issue I'm having is that my Wizard player seems to be throwing power around on a completely different level than my other players.  I put three of my players up against a Denarian in a learning session (my fourth players was not in attendance), and the wizard nearly took the Denarian out all by himself in two exchanges.  I'll give a basic description of the important parts of the conflict, then I'll list the primary parts of my player's characters.  Hopefully you all can give me some advice on what I may have done wrong, how you guys let your players build/play wizards, etc.

Sorcerer - Maneuver against Denarian lasting 2 exchanges, pass tag to Wizard. 6 shifts of power total.
Denarian - Huge attack against Sorcerer.
Wizard - 10 shifts summoned, 9 controlled tagging maneuver (1 shift fallout), after Denarian defense and armor - 15 shifts of stress,
Emissary of Power - Fists attack, after defense and armor - 5 shifts of stress.
Sorcerer - Maneuver against Denarian lasting 2 exchanges, pass tag to Wizard. 6 shifts of power total.
Denarian - Huge attack split between the 3 of them. Clear Minor Consequence.
Wizard - 9 shifts summoned, controlled tagging aspects consequences, and spending fate points, discipline roll finally equalling 12.  After defense and armor - 16 shifts of stress. Denarian taken out.

It's somewhat frustrating for my other players to watch one of them throwing around attacks in the high teens, and them only in the high tens.

Power level: Chest Deep

Evocation Wizard - Total Refresh Spent: 7
Conviction - 5
Discipline - 4
Lore - 2
Athletics - 3
Evocation Specialization - +1 Power Fire
Thaumaturgy Specialization - Undetermined