Lets say I'm playing Thomas during the throw down at Bianca's party in Grave Peril. I make a Lore roll and tell Harry "Their bellies! Without the blood, they're too weak to fight!" Is that my turn, or can I make another action (at a -1)? 
As a declaration, you still take your turn.  If it's an assessment it may actually take more than one turn.
Does it make a difference if I use that to place an Aspect, or just give another player a chance to place a Called Shot type of maneuver?
A called shot is probably going to be a declaration though that will change from one group to another.  Discovering an existing aspect is an assessment.  Placing an aspect is going to be either a declaration or a maneuver - though there's a fine meta-game line between placing and discovering an aspect when using declarations.  
Check out YS113 - Creating and Discovering Aspects.  You can guess by spending fate to use it, make an assessment, make a declaration, or perform a maneuver.  As for time taken, 
"All assessment efforts require the use of a significant chunk of time..." (YS115) suggests most assessments will take at least one exchange and probably more.  I would suggest that time requirement doesn't apply to guessing.  On the other hand, declarations are free actions* by default (YS116) and maneuvers normally take an exchange.  
*I tend to put soft limits on declarations.  It's also worth noting that enough free actions (some arbitrary number) do become a supplemental action.
Generally if you have to roll dice or spend a fate point instead of rolling dice, it counts as an action.
Not always - specifically not when making declarations.  I'd also suggest guessing an aspect shouldn't require an action.