Author Topic: advice to a young/new writer  (Read 1417 times)

cenwolfgirl

advice to a young/new writer
« on: May 04, 2012, 04:07:08 PM »
okay i have been writing for nearly five years but my aim is to colect all the advice and helpful sights you have found that you would recomend or give to some one just starting out

my reasons
i have a friend who is about my age who has just started writing and i am not the mest person to ask for giving advice its not rely a strong point of mine but i rely want to help her and i think it might help others on the forum as well
so please help if you can, most of you have more exspirence with this then me  ;D

CWG
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 04:34:39 PM by cenwolfgirl »

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
Re: advice to a young/new writer
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 06:23:41 PM »
Hrrm.  Trying to boil it down to what would be most useful to someone only just starting is not easy.

I think the first thing, would be; find a working habit that reliably generates the actual words.  Some people strongly advocate writing every day; if that works for you, fine, but you can still be a real writer if it doesn't.  (Extreme example for a real and successful genre writer's habits is that I've heard Iain Banks say that his process is to write a novel in six weeks of panic and spend the rest of the year goofing off.)  My own practise is to write one night a week, usually Friday, and catch up in advance if I am going to be away, and that has been pretty reliable in terms of generating a novel's worth of words a year.

Second; it's going to take a while.  There's a lot to learn, and it takes a lot of actual writing to learn it.  The chances of any individual new writer both being a once-in-a-generation brilliant genius from the get go and being recognised as such and picked up from the start are negligible; but becoming a better writer than you are is possible and worth doing.