Author Topic: Writing insecurities and anxiety  (Read 1698 times)

Offline HateEgo

• Participant
    • View Profile
Writing insecurities and anxiety
« on: October 03, 2011, 10:42:22 PM »
I'm an aspiring writer like so many others out there across this big blue marble.  I see alot of English degrees and literary professionals—some talented and some not so much—get published and talk about a professor or colleague that contributed to honing their craft.  I feel discouraged when I see this.  I read books about writing.  I study the books I love like a kid who takes his toys apart to see how they tick.  But I can't help but feel inadequate.  I know not every writer has a degree, but I never even finished my English course in college.

I've written some short stories, sure.  Only my close friends have read them.  My problem is that I don't know where to go, on the Internet or otherwise, to get an opinion on my writing or idea except for friends.  No offense to them but I don't want a bias or soft critique.  On the other hand, I don't know of I'm ready to be told definitively to keep my day job. LoL (tried to keep from using Internet terms, sorry)

So here I am.  I don't have much confidence in myself but I want to be better and I want to tell a story or two.  Where do I go? What do I do?  I've heard of seminars and writers retreats but rural Oklahoma isn't exactly a home to many writers.  I hope I've come to right place.

Offline Aminar

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Writing insecurities and anxiety
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 02:58:07 AM »