Author Topic: Beta Readers; When, How, and Safety  (Read 1142 times)

Offline Dresdenus Prime

• Conversationalist
  • More than meets the Wizards Sight
    • View Profile
Beta Readers; When, How, and Safety
« on: August 08, 2011, 04:11:24 PM »
I love the idea of Beta Readers, and with my first book over halfway done I was considering have a couple friends read it chapter by chapter to critique and inform me if the story, pace, and ideas are good. But being that this is my first time, I'm not sure how to go about it.

My one buddy who is also writing is planning on waiting until he finishes the book entirely, but I'm taking the approach of sending one chapter at a time, that way I can still be in the writing/editting phase if any problems arise.

-When do you think it's a good time to send out your work?

As for sending the work itself, there are so many options in this day and age, but even though I would only ask friends I trust, I can't say that the trust is 100%, so that begs the question:

-How do I keep my work safe? I thought of printing out one copy of chapter one, sending it to the first reader, then have them send it back, then send it to the second reader, and so on until I get the copy returned to me. Obviously scanners and copiers exist but that seems the safest bet when handling a physical manuscript. I could consider sending a CD  with the document locked so it can't be copied or printed, but reading off a computer might turn some readers off. Still that almost seems a good bet security-wise.

Any opinions or advice are appreciated. I know I have a couple chapters that, to me and my wife, are pretty much done and look really good. But how many readers should I ask for, 3? And what can I do to protect my work? Or should I wait until I'm completely done with my book, copyright it somehow then ask for beta readers? Thanks guys.  :D
DV Dresdenus Prime v1.2 YR6 FR(M)1 BK+ RP- JB TH++ WGH CL- SW+ BC+ MC++++ SH(Molly++++ Murphy- Elaine-- Mab+++++)