The Dresden Files > DFRPG Resource Collection
In the head of Fred - Q&A with Fred Hicks
Yukidaore:
--- Quote from: Drachasor on June 27, 2011, 03:51:48 PM ---I'd say in this case you just get the +2 bonus with respect to Bob (essentially Bob has a harder time with the spell/effect than Steve). So in the 10 person scenario, you'd get a +2 bonus on all of them, rather than just one of them. That seems to make the most sense.
--- End quote ---
Mm, the thing is that technically it's only one casting roll and as such you don't really get to "divide" the bonus from multiple tags among different targets on the zone castings, so it feels like the Rules as Written would leverage that +20 bonus, if not the Rules as Intended. Still, since it's basically a bonus on a to-hit roll it could just as easily be handled per target. Probably doesn't matter though, as if by some small chance there isn't a rule against re-invoking the same aspect for one roll there really should be.
--- Quote from: Drachasor on June 27, 2011, 03:51:48 PM ---More interesting here is that Frank is saying you can do a zone-wide maneuver with a spell, which actually isn't something the rules spell out as possible
--- End quote ---
Good catch! There are clear rules for multiple targets on Attack rolls, and I guess I always just made the logical assumption that those could be extended for maneuvers. Didn't realize it hadn't actually been spelled out before, and that really would be crippling for maneuvers.
--- Quote from: DFJunkie on June 27, 2011, 03:59:15 PM ---The appropriate GM response to that sort of request is to roll up a newspaper and smack the offending player on the nose whilst yelling "bad!" in a sharp voice.
--- End quote ---
I'm very much inclined to agree! :D
Still, I find it an interesting mental exercise.
Thanks for the responses!
Drachasor:
--- Quote from: Yukidaore on June 27, 2011, 04:40:27 PM ---Mm, the thing is that technically it's only one casting roll and as such you don't really get to "divide" the bonus from multiple tags among different targets on the zone castings, so it feels like the Rules as Written would leverage that +20 bonus, if not the Rules as Intended. Still, since it's basically a bonus on a to-hit roll it could just as easily be handled per target. Probably doesn't matter though, as if by some small chance there isn't a rule against re-invoking the same aspect for one roll there really should be.
--- End quote ---
Well, my response, if I were the GM would be that you can't tag an aspect for a +2 bonus on a group if the aspect is just one one person. Don't make no kind of sense. I would let you get a +2 bonus on each relevant person by tagging their aspects. Could get a bit confusing, so if there were people with the aspect and those without, I'd handle it on my end by treating a +2 bonus to hit as a -2 penalty to defense.
As for the rules, YS page 99 has
--- Quote --- you can’t use the same aspect
more than once on the same roll or action
--- End quote ---
On the boards most people go with the interpretation that if two aspects have the same name, then for this purpose they are the same aspect.
devonapple:
If you were using a Spray Attack (Evocation or otherwise), I'd allow that +2 bonus for each individual target.
If you are just casting another ZoneWide effect, I wouldn't let you use the Aspect for the control roll, BUT you could tag each individual Aspect to give an effective +2 to *against* each target's Defense roll.
computerking:
Alternate usage:
What if you wanted to perform a spell that removes the fire from all of the burning minions (and maybe the scene, as well) and turns it all into a huge fireball to hit the big bad? It could be argued that because the spell is meant to make magical "contact" with all the burning minions, that all of those minions' "On Fire" aspects can be tagged. Would this be something to allow?
Drachasor:
--- Quote from: computerking on June 27, 2011, 05:35:26 PM ---Alternate usage:
What if you wanted to perform a spell that removes the fire from all of the burning minions (and maybe the scene, as well) and turns it all into a huge fireball to hit the big bad? It could be argued that because the spell is meant to make magical "contact" with all the burning minions, that all of those minions' "On Fire" aspects can be tagged. Would this be something to allow?
--- End quote ---
I'd say not for a +20 bonus...only for a bonus for each person. On a rules level I view them as the same aspect.
It would also be extremely bizarre to turn what is essentially a 6 or so shift spell into something that's more like a 15 or so shift spell. In the end, one can make all the arguments one wants, but it certainly wouldn't be good for the game. It would be really overpowered. It's also uninteresting, since rather than have people invoke those tags one bit at a time or for effect for something dramatic, you are instead just pouring them all into one attack that ends the combat. Lame.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version