Author Topic: online publishing  (Read 2050 times)

Offline Biffy Pyro

• Participant
    • View Profile
online publishing
« on: July 09, 2010, 01:32:39 AM »
hey guys, i'm new to this forum, i've read about it several times when looking at jims website but finally decided to take the plunge

anyway, i am an amateur author and i publish my work online on a blog under my pen name, i was wondering if anyone else does this?

P.S. if your british like me i apologise for the obscene hour of the posting, the lack of uni make me turn nocturnal lol

Offline prophet224

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
    • Matt's Main Page (Under Construction)
Re: online publishing
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 08:30:24 PM »
I'm sure there are folks that do that.  My only thing is that if you are publishing your work via blog, than you are obviously interested in the 'being published' aspect. To me it is sort of a validation, so I definitely am interested in that myself. If you publish work via a blog, it is, today, considered 'first publication', unless there is restricted and limited access.  Thus you no longer have 'first publication' rights to anything you blog. Excerpts, however, are a notable exception.
*NEW* DragonCon Writer's Track Notes:
Middle of page at: http://www.novusimperia.net/

Local but online Writer's Group:
http://writing.novusimperia.net/

Hypertext SotC SRD:
http://www.novusimperia.net/FATE_SRD/Fate3SRD.php

Offline Apocrypha

• Conversationalist
  • As seen on tv
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 09:33:56 PM »
The only thing is that I have seen a few submission guidelines that say they won't accept anything that has been published online in any format previously.  I used to publish some of my work on a blog much like you till I saw that and so now I have stopped.
I am not a narcissist. I humbly accept the fact that I'm extremely good looking, smart, and better than you.

City Of Heroes:  @Heathen Cross

Offline Biffy Pyro

• Participant