Author Topic: Physical Strain of Writing/Reading  (Read 6435 times)

Offline swalizer

• Participant
    • View Profile
Re: Physical Strain of Writing/Reading
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2007, 02:34:25 AM »
* Take a five minute break and stretch every hour that I'm at the computer.

+1 problem solved. I'm a software developer and spend TONS of time on a computer. Take periodic breaks or your body will make you regret it.

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2007, 04:04:22 PM »

+1 problem solved. I'm a software developer and spend TONS of time on a computer. Take periodic breaks or your body will make you regret it.

On the other hand, if you're the kind of person for whom four hours straight are about sixteen times as productive as four chunks of an hour each, there can be compelling reason not to take those breaks.
Mildly OCD. Please do not troll.

"What do you mean, Lawful Silly isn't a valid alignment?"

kittensgame, Sandcastle Builder, Homestuck, Welcome to Night Vale, Civ III, lots of print genre SF, and old-school SATT gaming if I had the time.  Also Pandemic Legacy is the best game ever.

Offline swalizer

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2007, 05:09:20 PM »

On the other hand, if you're the kind of person for whom four hours straight are about sixteen times as productive as four chunks of an hour each, there can be compelling reason not to take those breaks.

After watching my father go through five surgeries in the past two years on both arms and his back, it's not that compelling, trust me. It's really not that disruptive to stand up and go get a drink and stretch in the process. Also if you're experiencing physical pain it would seem to me that that would be more disruptive to concentration than the time it takes to stand up and stretch.