Author Topic: Question/Thought about sponsored magic  (Read 6002 times)

Offline Saedar

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Question/Thought about sponsored magic
« on: March 22, 2010, 06:23:21 PM »
Hello all! This is my first time posting but I've been lurking for a while. I like to lurk...

Anyway! I was thinking about a character idea the other day (think Champion of Lucifer, anti-Michael) and I was wondering about the in-game laws regarding sponsored magic. I know that vampires and fae and such can use abilities that would otherwise violate the Laws (mind-control, killing and the like) but what about mortals saddled with sponsored magic? Do the Laws not apply because they come from a non-mortal source or do the Wardens still get to be all head-choppy because its a mortal making use of the abilities?

Sorry if this is a little convoluted. I will clarify if needed!

Offline iago

• The Merlin
  • Posty McPostington
  • I'm the site administrator.
    • View Profile
    • Deadly Fredly
Re: Question/Thought about sponsored magic
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 06:27:13 PM »
I get your question, but the answer is really going to be decided on a game by game basis. Personally, I think you might still be vulnerable to the spiritual consequences of breaking the laws of magic (i.e., you'll find yourself getting hit with the Lawbreaker stunt/penalty thing), but I don't know if the Wardens would necessarily get involved. They might, though; I doubt the White Council has a non-aggression pact with Hell. :)
Fred Hicks
I own the board. If I start talking in my moderator voice, expect the Fist of God to be close on my heels. Red is my Fist of God voice.
www.evilhat.com * www.dresdenfilesrpg.com
Support this site: http://www.jim-butcher.com/store/

Offline Archmage_Cowl

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 07:17:50 PM »