McAnally's (The Community Pub) > Author Craft

Author In Progress

(1/123) > >>

Mickey Finn:
Are you learning to become an author, but haven't yet published professionally?

Tell us about yourself and your work here. (Please don't post samples directly to the board. Links ok.)

LoVeBoOkS:
HI!

My name is Amber, and yes, I am an up-and-coming author. No, nothing published yet, but i am trying!!

Right now i'm writing two books, which is difficult with school and everything else a 14, almost 15, year old has to deal with. I write murder/mystery novels, seeing as how that is my favorite genre, along with fantasy of course. I've talked to many people to help me get my facts straight. I know the State Supreme Court Justice, who is a very nice lady. I've been interviewed by the local newspaper. I enjoy writing so much. I've email about 3 authors, counting Mr. Butcher, and have gotten emails back, except from Mr. Butcher lol.

My first book i started about two years ago and it's called Silent Death. It's in third person, and it's actually going very well. I'm about half-way through, and very excited about when i finish. Hopefully i can get out there!

My other book is a little different. I started it maybe a year ago, when i was originally typing a journal entry but decided it would make a good plot line. It's called Found Missing, and it's in first person, although i don't use myself. It's going along well too, although it's about a fourth of the way through. I'm also very excited for the finished product.

I like picking titles that contradict. For example, Found Missing. If you're found, how can you be missing? And if you're missing, how can you be found and missing at the same time? Do you see? Silent Death is a bit more complicated. Death is supposed to be posted. Whether it's murder or natural causes, you usually see something about it in the paper. But yet there is the silent part. Hence the contradiction.