Author Topic: Questions on Aspects & Locations  (Read 2326 times)

Offline Wendell_Burke

• Participant
    • View Profile
Questions on Aspects & Locations
« on: November 04, 2020, 04:24:44 AM »
I’m new to Fate and was wondering if anyone could please help me out with answering some questions about Aspects? I’ve read the book and I get how they work when it comes to the player character sheet well enough, I think, but I have a little trouble with the changing contexts as they apply to Faces & Locations.

1.   It seems that the books indicate that the very best Aspects should easily apply in both a positive and negative way when it comes to the character. Does this also hold true for all other applications of Aspects? I mean, Troubles are specifically marked as that, so I get that those are just supposed to be negative, But this works the same for Locations also?

2.   If it does work the same for Locations, could you provide some examples and maybe a little explanation for ones that might work well and how they might be used?

3.   What if the Location is just supposed to be a good place for your character, like their apartment? I know bad things can still happen there, but when you choose an Aspect for a Location, is that just describing the Location itself, or the Face’s relationship TO that Location?

4.   Is the Face’s Concept it’s ‘High Concept Aspect’, or should it be a Concept that specifically includes its relationship to the Location it’s associated with? Can you provide some examples?

5.   The Idea is just a brief physical description of the Location? I know this overlaps with the Aspect for the Location, but I’m not quite clear on the distinction between the two?