Author Topic: Plausible session material?  (Read 2886 times)

Offline Arawn Quinn

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Plausible session material?
« on: August 10, 2018, 10:11:48 PM »
Hey all, fairly new to Dresden Files. I've only gotten up to book 5 so far and have played a few sessions of the RPG but plenty of experience with other systems. I wanted to run a scenario on here to see if I'm on the money with the story/campaign stuff, since this is my first time running a session.

The campaign is taking place in New Orleans and I wanted to take them out in the bayou. We have a warden, a monster hunter and a third player making a character soon. I'm thinking that the White Council sends the warden a message to investigate the death or disappearance of a Warden who was investigating cult activity in the area. The cult is one of the ones that is trying to bring one of the Old Ones (called the Pretender) into the world and is in the process of trying to conjure up his Outsider (who the cult calls the Barbed Wire Saint). They track the cult to a small compound in the bayou with the help of trio of redneck werewolves brothers (known as the Track Bros.). Eventually they will have to face off against a chainsaw wielding nun (Sister Slaughter) who is one of the leaders of the cult in this area.

I'm more concerned about the plausibility of the Warden being killed or disappearing and of the cult. Thoughts?   

Offline g33k

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Plausible session material?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2018, 01:47:02 AM »
I'm not sure of the distinction you are making... what is an "Old One" and what is an "Outsider"?

I think "Outsider" is the Dresdenverse term for all those extraplanar beings, both greater and lesser, that would include a more Cthulhu-Mythos idea of an "Old One."

Outsiders seem to be setting up as one of -- if not THE -- biggest baddest Ultimate Bad Guys of the Dresdenverse.

But maybe I'm misremembering something.

Offline g33k