Author Topic: Dresden Files Accelerated/Fate Core - Mage the Awakening and World of Darkness  (Read 2933 times)

Offline scifirabbi

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Hi.  I'm new to Fate and have been working on ways to adapt World of darkness supernatural templates especially for Mage: the Awakening.  Inspired by DFA's Mantles here is an attempt at this. 

Supernatural Templates

Creating supernaturals in Fate:WoD is done by applying a template to a mundane character.  To do this create a character as normal, although with all the extra aspects that are part of the supernatural template, it may be advisable to limit mundane character creation to only 3 Aspects – a High Concept, a Trouble, and one other.
All supernatural templates work in basically the same way, whether for Mages, Vampires, Changelings, Werewolves or any other supernatural type.  The template is made up of the following:

Supernatural Aspect – This is the “Permission” aspect i.e. that gives the character permission to use supernatural powers.  It is made up of 2 parts.  The first part is simply a combination of the supernatural’s nature and their faction.  For a Mage this would be Path and Order, for a Vampire Clan and Covenant, for a Werewolf Auspice and Tribe, and for a Changeling Seeming and Court. The second part (after a colon, of course) is a more narrative description of the character based on the first part e.g. An Arcanthus mage of Mysterium may be described as a “Witch who plays with the strands of fate to solve mysteries”, or a werewolf Rahu of the Iron Masters might be described as a “Proud warrior who protects the urban streets of their territory.”

Supernatural Trouble – Each supernatural type has a specific Trouble that relates to their nature as supernaturals – Paradox for mages, Hunger for Blood for Vampires, rage for Werewolves, etc.  These are defined troubles that work the same for all of the same type of supernatural.