Author Topic: On Self-publishing: Working with a cover artist  (Read 2369 times)

Offline Xerjester

• Participant
  • That was Zen. This is Tao.
    • View Profile
    • Xero Reynolds - Professional Creative Widget
On Self-publishing: Working with a cover artist
« on: November 25, 2013, 11:38:56 PM »
If this has already been touched on, mea culpa. If not, I thought I'd throw in my pocket change. One of the greatest- and by extension sometimes the worst- aspect of self-publishing is designing that cover. Oh the myriad dreams of seeing your story reflected graphically! As a freelance artist myself, along with narrative-slinging, I've been on both sides of this fence. So, I wanted to share some tips with any aspiring writers out there who might be looking at self-publishing, and who might also be wondering as to the ins and outs of getting a cover created.

1. Try doing it yourself.
My freelance artist friends are going to kill me for writing that, and it does seem like a very counterproductive way to start this list, but hear me out. Try it yourself. Even if you've zero knowledge of graphic editing software, the only one who will absolutely know how it should look is you. You might find along the way that you've got a natural gift for it, or simply want to indulge in some artistic endeavors in your spare time.

But if it still doesn't come out how you envisioned it, at the very least you'll have a newfound respect for the craft, and even an example product to show the artist- no matter how crude- just to get the ball rolling. I've personally told clients to try sketching out their ideas first before going forward with me, and it's saved a lot of time and potential miscommunication. That leads us to point the second:

2.BE SPECIFIC