Author Topic: So I'm writing an Urban Fantasy, but need some help  (Read 6161 times)

Offline Zioneer

• Lurker
    • View Profile
So I'm writing an Urban Fantasy, but need some help
« on: November 09, 2013, 07:50:52 AM »
I'm writing an urban fantasy novel inspired by (but definitely distinct from) the Dresden Files. The main difference is that I won't have vampire or faerie courts, my main character will not be a freelance sort of magic-user like Harry Dresden starts off as, and my main setting will be the American Southwest, with an emphasis on Utah.

And therein lies my problem. I've been a resident of Utah for most of my life (I'm 20, and have been here almost 15 years), but besides being of the majority faith, I never really got into the culture, specifically the supernatural culture of Utah and the Southwest. I've searched on the Internet, but I can't find good ideas for monsters and supernatural ideas from the Southwest. I'd like some help if anyone's familiar with that area. I have Coyote (the Native American deity) involved, and the Transcontinental railroad/golden spike (don't ask), but I can't think of much else.

Offline The Deposed King

• Posty McPostington
  • Persuasion is the key to success.
    • View Profile
    • Luke Sky Wachter Blog
Re: So I'm writing an Urban Fantasy, but need some help
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2013, 12:36:00 PM »
I'm writing an urban fantasy novel inspired by (but definitely distinct from) the Dresden Files. The main difference is that I won't have vampire or faerie courts, my main character will not be a freelance sort of magic-user like Harry Dresden starts off as, and my main setting will be the American Southwest, with an emphasis on Utah.