Author Topic: Kindle E-Publising. Show us the ropes?  (Read 30835 times)

Offline The Deposed King

• Posty McPostington
  • Persuasion is the key to success.
    • View Profile
    • Luke Sky Wachter Blog
Kindle E-Publising. Show us the ropes?
« on: May 06, 2012, 08:02:36 PM »
Preface:  I am not an expert.  I've self-published one e-book.  But at the repeated urging of PG I am going to give it a shot at starting a thread on this subject.  It gets a bit long winded but there you go.  If you can do better.  Please!!!

But for now, lets start helping both each other and the newbs looking to go into this thing cold.

Note my post is mainly or exclusively for Amazon's e-book self-publishing route.  I'm going to give you the ABC's and the 123's.  Then you can all point out everything I've missed and why my B is really everyone else's G and I missed everything in between, 8).

Regardless and anyway, first things first.  I am an author and I've decided my manuscript is ready for self-publishing.  I've looked at it until my eyes bled and the tears have streaked nasty crustations all down my cheeks but now its finally time to take the dreaded plunge.  Only suddenly I am anxious:  Where is Kindle Direct Publishing?  What am I doing!  Where do I go!  Okay just take a deep breath, the KDP website is at.  https://kdp.amazon.com  .  Note this is not located on the regular URL for amazon.  But again I'm confused.  Everything takes hours and hours to read through, all those helpful little FAQ's they have are mind numbing to read and worse.  What they say is explained plain as day, is in fact clear as mud.  My brain is strained and I fear grey matter is about to start pouring out of my ear.  Again just calms down and let me start you off with a few things you need to know.