Author Topic: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0  (Read 16527 times)

Offline kenposan

  • Participant
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2012, 06:25:32 PM »
First off, this thing is really awesome!

I've noticed a couple (related) things.

I have a wizard and when validating it says I don't have wizard's constitution. When I look, it's there, but the program isn't liking the apostrophe. You also then can't display the description and I get an error:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at DFRPG_CM.MainForm.ListBoxSPSelected_SelectedIndexChanged(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.OnSelectedIndexChanged(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WmReflectCommand(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListBox.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.261 (RTMGDR.030319-2600)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
DFRPG-CM
    Assembly Version: 2.0.1.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.1.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/steve/Documents/RPG%20stuff/dresden/DFRPG-CMv2-0-1/DFRPG-CM.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.261 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.235 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.276 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.



This is true for the Phase Worksheet as well. When I've used an apostrophe or a quotes, I get this (but not all the time):

 &apos;with great power comes great responsibility&apos;
Dark magic. It was fun and easy. Like Lego.

Offline yakoaohw

  • Participant
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Dresden Files RPG Character Manager
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2012, 10:23:55 PM »
I'll take a look at the effects. It is probably checking the description for another custom item, which is of course blank because you are creating an effect.

As to the &quot; issue, I thought I had dealt with all those (it was a big problem in version 1). I'll go through and check that the characters are being trnaslated back and forth correctly. In the meantime, you can of course avoid the error by removing the charatcers. Not ideal, I know, but it will work until I check the code. The others characters that will cause issues are &, <, and >.

Offline ZacharyHill227

  • Conversationalist
  • **
  • Posts: 573
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2012, 06:30:24 PM »
Hey so I have a wizard character and their musts include The Sight and Soulgaze. Normally if you have both Soulgaze is supposed to be discounted and it's not. Is there something that can be done about this or no?

Offline eri

  • Conversationalist
  • **
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2012, 06:48:06 PM »
Seems to be two different entries for Soulgaze. If you take the one that says (the sight) in parentheses, you get the free version; if not, you get the one that costs -1.
The more you put in your brain the more it will hold – if you have one.

Offline ZacharyHill227

  • Conversationalist
  • **
  • Posts: 573
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2012, 06:52:09 PM »
yep just discovered that lol thanks

Offline Avriel

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2012, 05:35:53 AM »
Also having a problem here with the customization.  If I try to add a new power level, I put in all the info and when i try to save it, it tells me that "each power level must have a name" and i can't save it. 

Offline yakoaohw

  • Participant
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Dresden Files RPG Character Manager
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #21 on: April 22, 2012, 01:05:21 PM »
Also having a problem here with the customization.  If I try to add a new power level, I put in all the info and when i try to save it, it tells me that "each power level must have a name" and i can't save it.

I'll take a look at the editor. It is probably testing the wrong field and getting a false reading of no name.

Also, my apologies for the delays in the other fixes. It was opening week for Cabaret so I've been in rehearsal/shows all week.

Offline Avriel

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2012, 04:53:24 AM »
You don't have to give us any reason at all, the simple fact you've done what you've done is amazing.  It's a really cool program.

Offline Sanctaphrax

  • White Council
  • Seriously?
  • ****
  • Posts: 12402
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2012, 07:28:46 PM »
Gave it another try, found a few more oddities.

First, the Adjusted Refresh bubble on the character sheet lists the amount of Refresh I've spent. Isn't it supposed to list the amount I have left?

Second, the Total Refresh Adjustment bubble on the character sheet lists an amount equal to my base refresh plus the amount I've spent. Shouldn't it just be equal to the amount I've spent?

Third, the program doesn't turn my Total Refresh Adjustment number red until I've gone into negative Refresh. Shouldn't it do that when I hit zero?

Offline devonapple

  • Posty McPostington
  • ***
  • Posts: 2165
  • Parkour to YOU!
    • View Profile
    • LiveJournal Account
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2012, 07:31:45 PM »
I noted issues with the Refresh counts as well.

However, I was pleased to see that the Custom elements work now!
"Like a voice, like a crack, like a whispering shriek
That echoes on like it’s carpet-bombing feverish white jungles of thought
That I’m positive are not even mine"

Blackout, The Darkest of the Hillside Thickets

Offline kroysemaj

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2012, 04:46:45 AM »
Here's a note for your System Reqs. It's not a bug so much as a documentation mistake: Internet Explorer 9 requires Windows Vista or later (32 or 64 bit). So by requiring IE9, you are requiring Vista.

Unfortunately I'm on my age-old XP machine right now so I can't check it out, but I'll install it on my laptop later and give it a whirl. Thanks!

Offline yakoaohw

  • Participant
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Dresden Files RPG Character Manager
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2012, 09:29:52 PM »
Here's a note for your System Reqs. It's not a bug so much as a documentation mistake: Internet Explorer 9 requires Windows Vista or later (32 or 64 bit). So by requiring IE9, you are requiring Vista.

Unfortunately I'm on my age-old XP machine right now so I can't check it out, but I'll install it on my laptop later and give it a whirl. Thanks!

I was not aware IE 9 required vista. You can still use the program without it, you'll just have to use "export character sheet" instead of view and open the html file in something that supports html5/css3. You can open it in 8, but the sheet will look terrible.

Offline yakoaohw

  • Participant
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
    • Dresden Files RPG Character Manager
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #27 on: April 28, 2012, 02:51:19 PM »
Just posted version 2.0.2. Link can be found at the top of the thread.

kacowkachow: Custom effects should now be working. The description was checking the description field for Mortal Stunts which of course was empty since you were making a custom effect. This has been corrected.

kenposan: I think I've taken care of the special character issue. There are a lot of instances of string translation to remove ", ', &, <, and > so I may have missed one, but I think I got them all. Let me know if you stumble into this issue anywhere else.

ZacharyHill227: glad you noticed the other Soulgaze power. I thought that having a free one would make it easier than trying to make it a variable cost power. Also, when you choose a template, it should assign the musts automatically when the template is selected. Are the powers not being added automatically?

Avriel: the custom power level issue should be resolved. It was the same issue as kacowkachow's just with different fields.

Sanctaphrax: the values in question should now appear correctly on the character sheet. Also, the program should now highlight the refresh discrepancy when adjustment >= base refresh instead of simply >.

I think that is everything. If I missed something, please remind me. Thanks for the feedback.

Offline Avriel

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #28 on: April 28, 2012, 10:03:19 PM »
Well...I can save it, but then when I try to the program with it, it tells me

"the custom file 'deepend.dfcm' is invalid.  It will not be loaded.
Error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

help?  New power level name was Deep End, hence the save name.

The refresh issue is fixed though!

Offline sirmio

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: DFRPG Character Manager v2.0
« Reply #29 on: April 29, 2012, 04:14:58 AM »
If you add a single evocation element and then remove it, it throws an exception for the index value being -1. 


See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: InvalidArgument=Value of '-1' is not valid for 'index'.
Parameter name: index
   at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.ObjectCollection.RemoveAt(Int32 index)
   at DFRPG_CM.MainForm.ButtonRemoveElement_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.261 (RTMGDR.030319-2600)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
DFRPG-CM
    Assembly Version: 2.0.1.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.1.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Erik/Dropbox/shared/DFRPG-CM.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.261 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.235 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 built by: RTMRel
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.1 (RTMRel.030319-0100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.