Author Topic: Need help building a Sword  (Read 3315 times)

Offline Wookinstien

• Conversationalist
  • Lorem ipsum butts et mentiri non potest.
    • View Profile
Need help building a Sword
« on: February 14, 2012, 07:02:41 AM »
Hi my name is Wookie and I am a noob to the DFRPG system.  I have figured out almost everything about character creation, but I need help making an IOP. 

My idea is a sword created by a Sun God.  Very hot, very sharp cuts/burns through almost anything.  I also want to be able to use it to parry ranged attacks as well as melee attacks and if possible a "worldwalking" device. 
I have up to 4 refresh available....
Any suggestions/help/hints/smoke signals/crayon drawings?   ;D

too much? 

Offline Belial666

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Need help building a Sword
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 09:21:51 AM »
Traditionally, swords (especially the khanda or the scimitar) were symbols of Shiva and Kali. The gada (mace/club) was more up Vishnu's alley. (since you're looking for a weapon for your Vishnu emissary)

That said, here's a general build doing what you want;

[insert name] [-1 or -2 refresh depending on discount, w5 or w4 depending on size]
It is what it is: [insert name] is a perfectly crafter and balanced [insert weapon type]. Weapon 3 (if large), Weapon 2 (if small)
Indestructible: [insert name] can only be destroyed through specific rituals/circumstances that pervert its purpose.
Higher Purpose: [insert name] has a specific purpose; it cannot normally be used against that purpose and always has an agenda, whether its wielders know it or not.
One-time-discount: +2 (for a large weapon) or +1 (for a smaller, concealable one)
True Aim: +1 to all weapon rolls when wielding [insert name] within its purpose.
Flaming Aura: [insert name] deals +2 stress. That extra stress counts as fire.