Author Topic: Good ideas for a one-shot to introduce players to FATE/Dresden?  (Read 1864 times)

Offline JesterPoet

• Participant
    • View Profile
Good ideas for a one-shot to introduce players to FATE/Dresden?
« on: September 03, 2011, 04:52:24 PM »
So  my group is doing City Creation in two sessions this month, but due to an unfortunate circumstance, one player had to bow out of one night causing us to reschedule.  I was thinking that since all the other players still have that night scheduled, I could try to run a sample session for them to get the accustomed to the system.  Has anyone done anything like this?  Could you offer suggestions as to what I might do?  I'm a newbie Dresden/FATE GM myself, so I'm learning the system, too.

Any suggestions, references, etc that you all can offer would be VERY helpful.  I need to get this set up by the 9th (and would like to work with pre-genned characters, just to simplify things).

Thanks!

Offline Taran

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
    • Chip
Re: Good ideas for a one-shot to introduce players to FATE/Dresden?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 05:04:17 PM »
I can't tell you if this is the best way to do things, but since I'm running a 1-off tonight for a bunch of new players, I'll tell you what I'm doing:

I, like you, am using pre-gen characters - 5 players have 6 characters to chose from. 
I'm keeping the refresh low(waste deep) and capping skills at +4.
I've filled out the first 4 Aspects and am letting them fill in the remaining 3 themselves.  They can do so before or during the session as they see fit

I'll have a very short background for each PC

I'm using a pre-existing city - so obviously you'll use the city you just created