Author Topic: Help! Understanding maneuvers  (Read 978 times)

Offline Farbot

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Help! Understanding maneuvers
« on: July 25, 2011, 03:56:38 AM »
I'm new to this system and I'm having a little trouble with the concept of maneuvers. I understand that they are used to place a temporary aspect onto an opponent and that it is NOT an attack. But what I'm not getting is what sort of time frame that a maneuver occurs in. Once a successful maneuver is completed and the aspect is placed, can the PC immediately roll for an attack afterwards? Is it treated like a half action? or does the PC have to wait for their turn to come back around before they can tag the aspect for free? This is not really explained in the book very well...

Any help would be much apreciated, my game group is new to the system and I'm pretty new to GMing on top of that! :/
Who who? What what? Boy? Boy? I see no boy!

Offline Sanctaphrax

• White Council
  • Seriously?
    • View Profile
Re: Help! Understanding maneuvers
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 03:58:18 AM »
Welcome to the game and to the boards.

A maneuver is a full action. But the tag becomes available immediately.

Does that make sense?

Offline crusher_bob

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2011, 04:26:09 AM »
A maneuver normally takes a full action, just like an attack does.

Aspects generated by maneuvers generally only last for a scene, or a few minutes at most.
Remember that 'fragile' aspects go away when they are first used, while 'sticky' aspects can be used again by paying fate points.

Remember that the free tags generated by successful maneuvers can be passed to anyone as a non action.

So a combat round might look like:
Character 1: I maneuver against the bad guy

Character 2: I maneuver against the bad buy.

The bad Guy: I attack character 3, and hit with a margin of success of 1.