Author Topic: Blood & Magic  (Read 1533 times)

Offline TWMarlowe

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Blood & Magic
« on: March 12, 2011, 10:54:59 AM »
Hey all, I'm new to Mr. Butcher's forum. I'm a huge fan of Harry Dresden. In fact, I've been inspired to write my very own what I call Arcane Noire series. Now, I don't have a series title, but the first book is titled Blood & Magic. And I would like to share what little I have written so far with fellow Dresden fans. As such, I do pay homage to Mr. Butcher and The Dresden Files in it. So, please read and let me know what you think. Good, bad, ugly. It doesn't matter, I'd like anyone and everyone's feed back on it. Thanks for taking an interest and enjoy!

Chapter One
   I was reading the latest in The Dresden Files when the door to my office opened. A lot of my friends give me shit for readying The Dresden Files, but I can't help it. They are damn good books. I set my book down, and looked up.
   A young Hispanic man stood just in front of the door. He wasn't tall, an inch or two shorter than my height of six one. He had short black hair, and an angular face. He wore really baggy jeans, a pair of tan Timberland boots, and a red Marc Ecko shirt. He couldn't have been no older than twenty two.
   Before I could say anything he asked, “Are you Jason Mathis?”
   “Yes,” I said standing up and extending my hand. He took it and gave me a fairly firm handshake. “You are?”
   “Darren Ramos. I...I hear you are, um, well...”
   I chuckled. “I know, kid. It sounds crazy, and believe me with the shit I've seen, crazy is putting it lightly. Yes, there is such a thing as magic. And yes, I am a Wizard. Now, how can I help you?”