Author Topic: DO and DONT of scenario creation  (Read 2150 times)

Offline Madmacabre

• Participant
    • View Profile
DO and DONT of scenario creation
« on: April 30, 2010, 11:17:24 PM »
Hello all,

I am brand new to FATE and I am in the process of putting my first Dresden RPG game together.

I created my city as it is proposed in the book. I also prepared a few minor plots as well as my main “situation”, which is the drive behind the first story.

Now, this is all nice and good on paper. But when its time to run a game for 3 or 4 of your buddies, you need to be more prepared then that. Background material only get you so far...

How do you organize your scenario so that its efficient for actually running the game?

All I have for now are the big lines of my story. But should I break it down into chapters and scenes? Should I prepare some conflicts in advance?

What material do you get ready before running a game?

Anyway, if you have experience running Dresden (or FATE games), would you care sharing some of your HOW TO, DO and DON’T ?

Thanks a lot.

Offline luminos

• Posty McPostington
  • Um... Hello?
    • View Profile
Re: DO and DONT of scenario creation
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2010, 11:28:00 PM »
Well first off, I'd say DO design the city as a group. 
Lawful Chaotic

Offline Bubba Amon Hotep

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2010, 02:11:34 AM »
I have not yet run a game, however I plan to do a One-Shot.  In which Scenes and chapters are setup in advance.  I don't plan on railroading the players, but the story will take on a natural flow, and even if they skip to the end before coming back to a section in the middle you will have the scenes ready in advance with the NPCs ready to go, and at least a basic description that the players can base Declarations on.

Offline Falar

• Conversationalist
  • A veritable treasure trove
    • View Profile
    • Falar + Sha
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2010, 02:18:18 AM »