Author Topic: Dresdenverse game using World of Darkness rules  (Read 4438 times)

Offline quentra

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Dresdenverse game using World of Darkness rules
« on: February 11, 2009, 02:41:16 AM »
So, I recently started playing WoD, and got to thinking. The settings are very similar (not exactly, but pretty damn close.) With a few rules tweaks (No Paradox, etc.), I can see playing a Dresden game with the rulesets as very feasible. Y'know, until the actual rules come out. 

Thoughts? Anyone tried it yet? I can't see it as being too 'out there.'

Offline TheMouse

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Dresdenverse game using World of Darkness rules
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2009, 07:00:00 PM »
You could end up with something similar, but it wouldn't be the same. Mind magic would be rather different, as would Life and Time. Several things that are easy to do with few consequences in Mage are difficult, have severe consequences, or both in Dresden.

When you get into the other supernatural splats, the differences start to stack up. Vampire would be okay at running Red Court vamps, but pretty poor for White or Black Court. You might be able to handle it by passing different Disciplines to different Courts, capping them differently, etc. I imagine that it'd take a lot of work to get things about right.

But if that stuff doesn't bother you, it could work. If your group is fine with hand waving away differences things could work out well.

Offline Matrix Refugee (formerly Morraeon)

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2009, 06:30:00 AM »
I think of the Blampires as pretty much analogous to the Nosferatu, but that's just me.

Offline Jaroslav

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2009, 06:19:02 PM »