Author Topic: Advice for the Newbie  (Read 18497 times)

Offline Priscellie

• Timeline Chick and Industrious Little Gnome
  • The Gatekeeper
  • Seriously?
  • Icon by Daoine! <3
    • View Profile
    • Priscellie.com
Advice for the Newbie
« on: January 22, 2007, 09:26:44 PM »
I'm sure this has already been asked and answered a dozen times, but this is my first time on this Darkest Hours board, so I apologize in advance.  I've only seen the movies--I've never read any of the Spider-Man comics--and I was wondering if this story would be accessible to someone like me with little knowledge of the Spideyverse.  Any thoughts?

Offline jtaylor

• Posty McPostington
  • Bob: Offline but not forgotten.
    • View Profile
Re: Advice for the Newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 09:41:32 PM »
Yes. I haven't read Spiderman comics since the Maximum Carnage storyline in the early 90's. The book deals with story lines that had been covered after I stopped reading, but it give you all the history you need to keep up during the book. Some major points that would be worth knowing beofre reading this are as follows:

Peter and MJ are married, and MJ knows Peter is Spidey.
It would be helpful (but not necessary) to know some background on the Rhino one of Spidey's frequent foes.

Everything else is told you through the story, and it's enjoyable even if you are not up to date on Spidey lore.
A noble spirit enbiggens the smallest man.

Offline ShadowInTheDarkness

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2007, 03:56:17 AM »
I agree. I've never read one Spider Man comic. Saw the movies. The book was still awsome. Jim does a great job explaining what's going on.
There are some refrences to previous events that must have happened in the comics, but it's really easy to stay up to date with whats happening.
Read on.
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night" - Edgar Allan Poe