Author Topic: Shameless use of the board's creativity  (Read 7786 times)

mythcantor

Shameless use of the board's creativity
« on: October 12, 2008, 05:34:27 PM »
I'd like to use you all shamelessly.

Basically I've been running an RPG for the last 11 months or so dealing with people who learn to travel between several interconnected worlds, including modern day Earth.  During the last two gaming sessions, the people of Earth became aware of magic when a really powerful ancient bad guy resurrected the ghosts of Earth's dragons from before magic was bound up about two thousand years ago and essentially used it as his powerbase and weapon to take control.

He's gone now, and the dragons are all put away, but magic is back on Earth, many governments crumbled, economic shock has collapsed most businesses, and lots and lots of people are dead from the resurgence of magic (and some magic creatures).  Paranoia and superstition are running rampant, and now those governments that remain know that there are other worlds out there who can essentially pop open doors behind their borders at any time, leading to security ramp-ups on epic scales.  The characters couldn't stay and help put the mess back straight because the bad guy had a lot of other bad things happening in other worlds, but they did get a group of people to start helping magic users not take the left hand path.  Unfortunately, that's about maybe 150 people in this group, operating in secret, with tens of thousands of awakening powerful practicioners worldwide who are mostly trying to hide from fearful cultures and governments.