Author Topic: Plot Helpers  (Read 5744 times)

Offline blgarver

• Conversationalist
  • There are three things all wise men fear...
    • View Profile
    • Video Samples
Re: Plot Helpers
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2008, 03:44:44 PM »
It's in my nature to work in the 3rd method you described...however, I still haven't finished a novel. 

I would say create the characters and see how they affect the plot.  I'm more of a fan of character driven, though, so that's just my opinion.  However, I do appreciate Crichton's work as well, which is all plot-driven. 

And I agree...the concept sounds awesome.
I'm a videographer by trade.  Check out my work if you're a writer that needs to procrastinate.  Not as good as Rhett and Link, but I do what I can.
http://vimeo.com/user1855060/videos

Offline Quantus

• Special Collections Division
  • Needs A Life
  • He Who Lurks Around
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2008, 02:00:23 PM »
My method goes: create the world, create the hero, sketch a rough story arc that he'll have to travel (ie what is the major conflict of the story), then wing it to see how he does in the details.

But then, ive never finished a novel either.
<(o)> <(o)>
        / \
      (o o)
   \==-==/

“We’re all imaginary friends to one another."

"An entire life, an entire personality, can be permanently altered by just one sentence." -An Accidental Villain

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2008, 09:00:14 PM »
My method goes: create the world, create the hero, sketch a rough story arc that he'll have to travel (ie what is the major conflict of the story), then wing it to see how he does in the details.

That order of the starting things is interesting.

Often I get the arc first, or at least the key points along it, the key turning point in the middle or the major climax at the end, or just "what story do you get when this meets this ?"