Author Topic: Finding an Editor  (Read 3776 times)

Offline blgarver

• Conversationalist
  • There are three things all wise men fear...
    • View Profile
    • Video Samples
Finding an Editor
« on: September 12, 2007, 09:24:08 PM »
So, I really need to have a second set of eyes to help me go through my writing.  Someone who knows grammar and all that stuff better than me, but still has a sense for narrative fiction. 

However, I can't really pay anyone, and I'm a little wary about emailing chapters to someone I've never met.

Anyone have any advice for an unpublished author about how to get a quality, reliable and trustworthy editor?  I've already posted to Craigslist and looked around on myspace and facebook for English majors at the University.  I got a few hits, but nothing solid yet.

Also, when an author finally gets picked up by an agent, does that author get to pick the editor?  Or, say, keep the editor he started with before success came?  Just curious.
I'm a videographer by trade.  Check out my work if you're a writer that needs to procrastinate.  Not as good as Rhett and Link, but I do what I can.
http://vimeo.com/user1855060/videos

Offline Dom

• Conversationalist
  • "I can't believe it's not Butters!"
    • View Profile
Re: Finding an Editor
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2007, 12:41:19 AM »
I think you're confusing "beta" with "editor".