Author Topic: Campaign Arc Endgame Advice/Suggestions for first-time GM in Magical Pittsburgh  (Read 2770 times)

Offline AgentSchneider

• Participant
    • View Profile
Hey all! I'm a long time reader of the forums but this is my first actual post. My group started off playing a New Orleans game a few years ago but within the past few months I have been voraciously reading up into the rules and structures of the system and was inspired to whip up a side campaign to play that takes place in Pittsburgh (I go to school at West Virginia University, which is about an hour away, so a lot of us are somewhat familiar with the area). While I have most of the general ideas figured out, I'm trying to work really hard in the downtime we have to get a lot of the finer details figured out, including what the endgame for the campaign arc will be. This is my first time ever running a game campaign (which the DFRPG makes easier through the hefty player input) and so I come seeking some guidance, as I'm not sure if my current end-campaign idea is good, could use some work, or if it just sounds ridiculous.

Setting the scene:
Magical Pittsburgh:
Because the city is at the site of where the Monongahela, Allegheny, and Ohio rivers meet, they function as a natural threshold that surrounds the city proper. As a result, the city acts as a common supernatural dealing/bargaining site between factions. Additionally, the threshold acts to make the area more conducive to everyday mortals - the technological industry is able to boom more in Pittsburgh in part because of this latent repulsion of outward magical energies. The Unseelie Accords are still fairly in place, but Winter's influence in the area isn't very great so Pittsburgh skirts the boundaries more (falls on the scale more towards the Vegas setting from Paranet Papers than Chicago in terms of influence).

Timeline:
The story is taking place starting ~6 months after the events of Changes (so RCV's are out of the picture)