Author Topic: Joined my first campaign. Pointers?  (Read 1955 times)

Offline Don

• Seriously?
    • View Profile
Joined my first campaign. Pointers?
« on: February 25, 2014, 06:16:54 AM »
I was invited to join a DFRPG campaign, but I don't have any RPG experience.

The DM knows the story universe pretty well, but none of the other players do.  They're all seasoned RPG folks, though.  I've read each book at least three times, so I figure my knowledge of the Dresdenverse will compensate for my noobness.

So I'm an apprentice wizard with 4+ lore, and one of my jobs will be to advise the other players on magic and politics.  I figure I'll learn the game as I go.  For now I'm just interested in figuring out some fun spells, and I'd like your advice.  Also, if you have any examples of standards, I'd be interested in hearing them.

Anyway, I've decided to go earth/water mage, and there isn't a whole lot of text support for those two elements.

Leg crusher:  A disabling spell that opens a sinkhole below an opponent and quickly snaps back, crushing leg bones.

Feasible?  I'm worried that the DM might accidentally make me kill someone by opening the hole too big and crushing a torso or something like that.  Is this something I should be wary of?

Coinshot:  This is stolen from Mistborn.  Harry uses his sword cane as a focus for spells involving magnetism.  Are there special rules governing this?  Do magnetic spells always attract metal towards the caster, or can I be more versatile with it?  For example, can I take a handful of ball bearings and shoot them outward towards a hostile?

If not, magnetism still has the advantage of disarming opponents and maybe I can even hit people with metal objects when my opponent is between me and the object itself.