Author Topic: Modular Abilites and Catch  (Read 1906 times)

Offline Tempestaire

• Participant
    • View Profile
Modular Abilites and Catch
« on: February 22, 2015, 10:49:16 PM »
Hello, I'm new to the game and I'd like to know if it is possible to apply a Catch to the Modular Abilities power, given that this power can be used to gain Toughness and Recovery powers.

Offline PirateJack

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Modular Abilites and Catch
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2015, 11:52:54 PM »
Yes. If you take a Toughness/Recovery power you have to take a Catch as well, even if it's through Modular Abilities.
Quote from: JoeC
"Why are you banging your head against the wall?
'cause it feels sooooo good when I stop..."

Offline Tempestaire

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2015, 12:20:13 AM »
Thanks for the answer!
Would the refresh discount be limited by the number of form points that can be dedicated to Toughness powers or by the refresh cost of the Modular Abilities power?

Offline Taran

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
    • Chip
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2015, 02:52:06 AM »
Thanks for the answer!
Would the refresh discount be limited by the number of form points that can be dedicated to Toughness powers or by the refresh cost of the Modular Abilities power?

Not sure I understand the question but A toughness power has to always cost 1 refresh.

So, if you have 2 points to assign in modular abilities, and you take inhuman toughness, with a catch of +3, toughness is still going to cost 1 refresh - despite the rebate.  But it means you might as well take supernatural toughness instead (or an inhuman toughness recovery combo)

So  your character might look like this:
-6 modular abilities (-2 base)
    -4 form points

Bear form:
-4 Supernatural toughness
+3 catch: Weapon 3 weapons or higher.
-2 inhuman strength
-1 Echoes of the beast