Author Topic: Publishing online or not?  (Read 1768 times)

Offline Demos Mirak

• Participant
    • View Profile
Publishing online or not?
« on: June 04, 2013, 07:52:00 PM »
I have always liked to imagine worlds, be they Sci-Fi or fantasy, filled with stories. Lately, I have been trying to get those words on paper. As it turns out, I'm not good at writing big story-lines. I like to write about the back stories of things, the extra info on tools used, the discovery of technological, medical and/or magical advances, the creation of the world where the stories take place, and this is exactly what I did whenever I got stuck on the main story, to the point where the background was bigger than the main story. I simply like crafting worlds. Sadly, all this background info isn't really good material for being published in book form.

This gave me the following idea; 'What if I published all this on a website, with a tab for general world info, a tab about items, a tab about the rules, a tab with the personal stories? Would that work?' Upon browsing this forum, I read that anything published online, cannot be published in books as well. This makes sense, who would pay for something free, but since a big part of the stories about the world would be online, wouldn't that mean that everything else would also be unpublishable? Aside from all that, I'm also about to head off to the university, doing Medical (if I get accepted, but I have good hopes for it), so money won't exactly available in great amounts. I know that webhosting can be very cheap, a handful of Euros a month (I am Dutch), but I am still hesitant. Can you guys/girls help me out a bit?

Offline Aminar

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Publishing online or not?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 08:36:25 PM »
You're a little off on the anything published online thing, it's been done.