Author Topic: Tiger Fate Core Extra  (Read 1410 times)

Offline zombiedog

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Tiger Fate Core Extra
« on: April 18, 2013, 09:19:25 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I'm going to be running a Fate Core game set on an alternate history Earth. One of the players is brand new to RPGs and wants to play a circus acrobat who travels with a Bengal tiger. I'm working on how to make that happen, but I'm also very new to Fate Core. I understand that the tiger would probably be an Extra, using skills to represent it, but have no idea how to make it work properly/cost enough/not cost too much, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Haru

• Posty McPostington
  • Mentally unstable like a fox.
    • View Profile
Re: Tiger Fate Core Extra
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 09:22:36 PM »
I'd say the easiest way is to make the tiger a character of his own, and the player just plays 2 characters.
If you are not comfortable with that, you can take the part of the tiger and give the player a skill that lets him command the tiger.
“Do you not know that a man is not dead while his name is still spoken?”
― Terry Pratchett, Going Postal

Offline zombiedog

• Lurker
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 09:42:54 PM »
Okay, yeah that makes sense. What's a reasonable amount of skills for him to have? Should I give him aspects, too? How would you recommend I handle the command skill?

Offline fantazero

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 09:46:16 PM »
Didn't Spirt of the Century had a Side Kick Stress track?
I'd say make him take a Aspect and a Stunt related to his Tiger.

Offline zombiedog

• Lurker
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 10:12:16 PM »
But wouldn't introducing the Sidekick system for just one character unbalance things? I'm starting to think making it an DMNPC would make a lot of sense. Plus, easy of play is more important that rules crunch.

Offline Haru

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile