Author Topic: Maybe an English degree is a must?  (Read 8866 times)

Offline Sully

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Maybe an English degree is a must?
« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2013, 04:05:48 PM »
And then again, you see genre writers like Gregory Benford and Alison Sinclair who are working academic scientists, and I am a working scientist with strong love for writing and aspirations to write professionally myself.

Fair point, especially with classic sci fi authors.  Coming back to this thread with a different mood&energy level, I do think I'm being over-general to the point of being incorrect with my first point.  For instance, most ex-music majors go into the sciences.  Allegedly, the most common double major attached to music is math.  There is most definitely NOT a clear demarcation or caste system segregating scientists from being artists of any medium.  Besides, different stages of life, etc.  Hell, Borodin was a chemist first, composer second.

I'm willing to entertain the idea that I might not be using the most commonly accepted definitions though.  For instance, I consider most performers interpretative craftspeople-not creators(though actors are closer to creators than musicians, in my opinion).  The creators are the authors/composers.

I will stand behind my second point though.  Writing is a skill.  It has to be practiced.  Practicing violin for 3 hours a day doesn't make you a better writer, it makes you a better violinist.  Manipulating spreadsheets doesn't make you a better writer, it makes you better at manipulating spreadsheets.  Creating something on a canvas doesn't make you a better writer, it makes you better at expressing yourself on a canvas.  So if you want to become a better writer-write.  And what degrees are most likely to encourage, enable and require that you do so?

You've obviously never played DnD ;)