Author Topic: NPC Generator?  (Read 1420 times)

Offline codetyro

• Lurker
    • View Profile
NPC Generator?
« on: June 23, 2012, 02:57:20 PM »
I'm a gamer.  I'm a programmer.  I'm a GM.

I looked for an NPC Generator to help me create/organize/store my NPCs for my Dresden Files games, but found none.  Maybe I suck at googlesearches.  /shrug

I threw together an NPC Generator to help ME.  Figured maybe others could help me too.  It's straight out of my mind and that's not the easiest place to navigate.  Hopefully this app will be semi-easy for others.

I dunno the rules on this (I don't even know if it's allowed!), but I'm uploading the debug folder.  It requires .net 4, if you have Windows 7, you probably already have it.

I'm looking for feedback and to contribute to the community.  "This sucks" is not feedback.  "What you did on screen X is confusing" is feedback.  If you're gonna criticize something, that's fine - but you better have a suggestion.  I'm a coder, not a designer.  It looks plain because pretty is for the designers.

INSTRUCTIONS
There's no installer yet.  Double click on the DfGen.exe file.

Create a new game. (Program menu or Ctrl+n)

Add factions by typing into the grid

Add toons (characters, npcs, whatever you wanna call 'em) by typing into the other grid

Double-click on a toon to edit the toon

Drag skills to the boxes (top one is +8, bottom one is +1).  Drag back to other window to remove.

Drag refresh items to the other window.  Delete button to remove the item.  Where you drag the item is important.  You'll figure it out.

REQUESTS
Metadata is the collection of skills, stress, powers, stunts, etc.  It's a lot of tedious work that anyone can do.  I added an editor to make the process easier.  If you're going to repost the Metadata.dfd file (an xml file storing the metadata) then please specify if it's a pure file containing only stuff from the book or if it has homebrew stuff in it.