Author Topic: advice on compelling aspects  (Read 1538 times)

Offline yarbaur

• Lurker
    • View Profile
advice on compelling aspects
« on: April 13, 2012, 06:46:32 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to DFRPG and been running a game for about a month now.
Our game is very loose as far as mechanics go, so the rules don't get officially invoked very often (I come from a free-form-tending background). This leads to one big issue - there are very few opportunities for compels to be properly used, leaving the PCs with pretty much no fate points except from consequences.
The problem is that their aspects get used a lot during the game, just not in a formalized fashion - that is, they pretty much self-compel in most places that I would consider compelling them into, but given that they just do it as part of roleplaying the scene, its pretty hard to notice in progress, and even when I catch the moment, stopping the game for "ok, that was a self-compel on your <blah> aspect, here's a fate point" seems awfully awkward and like an unnecessary interruption of the game flow.
I've tried to keep track and it looks like all of them are missing about 2-3 fate points each session this way, but so far I don't have any idea how to actually make them get those point short of just changing the per-session refresh, and not doing them makes us miss out on the most interesting aspect of the system that got us to DFRPG in the first place...

Any suggestions on how to emphasize the fate economy of compels while keeping things light on mechanics?

Offline eri

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: advice on compelling aspects
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2012, 09:16:56 PM »