Author Topic: Help w/ 2 Mortal Stunts  (Read 2007 times)

Offline Daddy Warpig

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Help w/ 2 Mortal Stunts
« on: December 28, 2011, 09:36:54 PM »
i'm playing a cop, Zack Donovan. These are two Stunts I'd like to use. I'm new to Dresden and could use some feedback to help tune up the mechanics.

"Freeze, Police!": Zack's devotion to justice is intimidating. So long as he's confronting a real or suspected wrongdoer, he can use his Presence instead of Intimidation to Threaten a suspect (Dresden, "Your Story", 133). Threaten is an attack that deals Mental stress.

"Do What's Right Here...": Zack has supreme confidence in his authority, both legal and moral. Even in instances where he lacks legal authority, his desire to see justice done gives him the confidence to talk wrongdoers and suspects into doing what's right. Using Presence, he can talk criminals (or suspected criminals) into surrendering, convince them to confess (or reveal other information), and otherwise listen to him, even when its not in their best interests.

These two Stunts both play into his identity as a police officer. They provide explicit benefits in pursuit of his job, or even in pursuit of justice (such as pursuing a creature that would otherwise be outside of his jurisdiction).

Offline UmbraLux

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Help w/ 2 Mortal Stunts
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 10:05:31 PM »
"Freeze, Police!": Zack's devotion to justice is intimidating. So long as he's confronting a real or suspected wrongdoer, he can use his Presence instead of Intimidation to Threaten a suspect (Dresden, "Your Story", 133). Threaten is an attack that deals Mental stress.
"...in certain situations..." intimidation may cause mental stress.  With that caveat, this seems a reasonable stunt.  (It's not reasonable if it allows causing mental stress any time you use the threaten trapping.)