Author Topic: Getting Started  (Read 1550 times)

Offline Kyrian

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Getting Started
« on: September 28, 2011, 07:51:44 PM »
Hello all. I'm new to this. What advice would you seasoned writers offer to one with a stack of note-filled spiral bounds, some good ideas, and the attention span of a doormouse?

Figging Mint

Re: Getting Started
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2011, 08:05:44 PM »

Commit.   Write.   Make it a habit.   Go back and edit.

(I feel compelled to point out that Nanowrimo is once again upon us, and represents a ready made opportunity to commit, and to start building that habit.)

Offline Darkshore

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2011, 08:09:30 PM »
My advice is this for one, read Jim's Journal http://jimbutcher.livejournal.com/. He gives a lot of great information on how to get started. I always thought myself a discovery writer, but kept finding myself getting bored and lost within my novel before the end. Outlines saved my writing. Having your novel roughly planned out from the start with notes on what comes next and so on and so forth, can really help keep you focused on the task at hand. Also do not stop writing it until it is complete. You get a new idea that you can't help but start? Don't. Write it down for future use, but finish what you started. Try setting a time of around two hours a day for Butt In Chair Hands On Keyboard writing. As in for those two hours you will do nothing, but write. Those are my quick tips, I hope they help. Also go check out AW http://absolutewrite.com/ It can be a time sink if you aren't careful, but there are tons of helpful and intelligent writers over there.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 08:11:35 PM by Darkshore »

Offline the neurovore of Zur-En-Aargh

• O. M. G.
  • Riding eternal, shiny and Firefox
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2011, 08:56:30 PM »