Author Topic: New GM Requesting Help  (Read 1355 times)

Offline Aubri

• Participant
    • View Profile
New GM Requesting Help
« on: May 05, 2011, 09:58:11 PM »
My group and I have spent the last couple of weeks putting together a city and characters for a DFRPG game, which I'm to GM. And I'm a little worried.
It's not that I'm new to running games. I've run D&D for years... but I'm starting to feel like that's more of a hindrance than a help! I'm having some trouble putting together a plot and a proper villain. This is really, really different from what I'm used to.

First off, I ran through the process in "Building Scenarios", but I'm a little bit confused about what to do after I have a general idea of the plot. Should I just write down what happens without the PCs' intervention, and watch them monkey-wrench it all to hell?

Second, I don't understand the rules of thumb in "Scaling the Opposition". My group is Waist Deep: two pure mortals, a changeling, and a were-form. For a single villain, the Mixed Groups sub-heading says I should "add up the total refresh the PCs spent on powers, but then subtract the total number of refresh they spent on mortal stunts."
What does "powers" refer to? Do you total the spent refresh and subtract stunts, leaving you with just the refresh spent on supernatural powers? Or that you add up only the supernatural powers, then subtract the stunts? Because doing that leaves me with a grand total of -1 refresh for my baddie.
(In case anyone cares: mortal cop, -5 in stunts; mortal scientist, -4 in stunts; changeling, -6 in powers; were-form, -4 in powers. The changeling has sponsored unseelie magic.)

Offline devonapple

• Posty McPostington
  • Parkour to YOU!
    • View Profile
    • LiveJournal Account
Re: New GM Requesting Help
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 10:11:16 PM »