Author Topic: NEED HELP- Rome Game  (Read 4417 times)

Offline Katarn

• Posty McPostington
  • Morgan- Best Warden ever.
    • View Profile
NEED HELP- Rome Game
« on: February 03, 2011, 10:21:26 PM »
Alright so I'm GMing my first game with 5 players I know IRL (not on this site).  They voted, and Rome won in a landslide.  This is quite a challenging city, given its history and religious aspects.  I'm not asking for locations or themes, but where do I begin with a game of this nature?  Political intrigue? True believers abound? Knights/Denarian cameos?  Former White Council complex?  Not sure where to even start.

*None of them have DFPRG experience, though they have heavy D&D experience (hence I'll have to point out the emphasis on story)
*Of the 5, one has read DF (and he knows it thoroughly).
*I have very little DFRPG experience, but a lot of D&D under my belt.

Offline devonapple

• Posty McPostington
  • Parkour to YOU!
    • View Profile
    • LiveJournal Account
Re: NEED HELP- Rome Game
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2011, 10:23:26 PM »
This isn't meant to sound pedantic, but: what kind of game do the players want? Edit: which may be hard if they are relatively inexperienced with DF and the game system. But that is the best way to generate stories is to see what sort of stories interest them. Maybe they want to translate the traditional D&D type of plot into DFRPG? If the answer is "they don't know," then maybe we can come up with some suggestions on the forum for you.

I am, unfortunately, speaking as one who had to actually build the City and determine the Faces myself, and only really got player input on the major Themes and Threats.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2011, 10:26:07 PM by devonapple »
"Like a voice, like a crack, like a whispering shriek
That echoes on like it’s carpet-bombing feverish white jungles of thought
That I’m positive are not even mine"

Blackout, The Darkest of the Hillside Thickets

Offline bibliophile20

• Conversationalist