Author Topic: Branded Soldier  (Read 3445 times)

Offline Seb Wiers

• Participant
    • View Profile
Re: Branded Soldier
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2011, 11:43:51 PM »
Interesting.  I ended up with a somewhat similar character, via a different path.  Our GM had us make what seemed pretty powerful characters (10 refresh, all must be spent, 35 skill - but FATE points are gonna work a bit differently, so that may not be as powerful as it looks).  I'm new to the game and didn't want to play a magic user due to complexity, but also didn't want to be stuck with the same few tricks before I'd even had a chance to play the game; when I saw the "Modular Ability" deal, it seemed perfect.  

I decided to do a kung-fu prodigy, who was actually descended of / a refuge from members of the Celestial Court (which may or may not have ties to the Jade Court- what I had in mind was more like the "honored ancestors" of ancient Chinese rulers, who might be fae or minor gods or some new class of power).  His father emigrated from Honk Kong when Chan was a baby; Chan is the child of a celestial court maiden who was impudent enough to have an affair with a mortal.  Wong Sr. has trained Chan in the traditions of ancient Kung Fu (IE, the kind that is actually supernatural) and also some related healing arts (non supernatural in effect, but using related knowledge).  Unfortunatley, shortly before Chan's 18th birthday, Wong Sr. died and many of his scrolls and artifacts were stolen before Chan had a chance to study them.

Here's what I'm working with so far.  When setting up mu "modular ability" choices, I modeled them after (stereotyped views of- I'm looking to imitate "non-magical" kung-fu movie tropes, not real martial arts) the five kung fu animal styles, and picked things that wouldn't go wonky when turned on / off.  I've been working with the GM (newtinmpls) to get these sorted, and they look like a lot of fun so far.

=============
Chan Li Wong
Template: ???? (unique - so far)