Author Topic: Halp Plz. (Newbie here)  (Read 3388 times)

Offline Lancer

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Halp Plz. (Newbie here)
« on: November 26, 2010, 07:36:21 AM »
Hello everyone, forum lurker here.

I just bought the DFRPG and have read through most of it, but I'm pretty new to RPGs and brand new to the FATE system so I'm feeling pretty overwhelmed. (Trying to design a game right now)

I was hoping to start up a thread here to maybe have you good folks gimme a hand with some stuff I'm having trouble understanding.

I pretty much understand the character and city creation pretty well, my main concern is that I can't get a good handle on how this combat system works. I know that characters have stress boxes, but it seems like you only have 3-4 of those, does that mean  you only get 3-4 hitponts, because that feels like not alot at all. I'm really lost how consequences work, are they just arbitrary? Does the GM decide when a character takes consequences? How long do they last?

If someone could explain this combat system to me in some laymans terms I would be eternally grateful.

Offline crusher_bob

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Halp Plz. (Newbie here)
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2010, 08:11:52 AM »
Here's one of my sample combats for you to take a look at.

Remember that you only mark off the stress box you took, not all the ones under that (like other damage systems). So, for example, if you have 4 stress and take a 3 stress hit, your stress boxes look like:
OOXO
and not
XXXO

So if you take a 2 stress hit after that:
OXXO.

This means that something with a lot of stress boxes can soak up several hits
We'll look at something with supernatural toughness
stress: OOOO(OOOO)

If it took a stress 5 hit, then a stress 7 hit, then another stress 7 hit, (we'll ignore it's armor for now) it's stress boxes would look like:
OOOO(XOOO) (stress 5 hit)
OOOO(XOXO) (1st stress 7 hit)