The Dresden Files > DFRPG Resource Collection
Sample Combat
KOFFEYKID:
--- Quote from: greycouncilmember on August 17, 2010, 04:30:31 PM ---I have two questions because I don't really understand how this block works. What does a block do against endurance, does that mean they can't do anything at all?
Wouldn't the block affect both the caster casting the spell (Barry) and the cop (Dave) if it's a zone effect?
--- End quote ---
The wording is off, it shouldn't be a block versus endurance, its a block, against some action, which is opposed by endurance. Which means that the block keeps X from happening, but you can overcome the block by means of your high endurance.
So for example you can have two blocks that do the same thing be opposed by different skills.
A block against movement opposed by athletics.
A block against movement opposed by might.
In the first block you are doing something like dodging past whatever is blocking you, as long as its athletic.
On the second block you are using your brute strength to bypass the block, like maybe the block manifests as chains which bind you in place, and you go all hulk smash on the chains and then proceed to move.
Miso:
--- Quote from: JesterOC on August 18, 2010, 03:23:10 PM ---After rereading the rules for invoking for effect, compels, and all the examples in the book I can find. I agree that having V fall in the stairs is a compel and not an invoke for effect. It makes PC's using narrative control to short circuit much more costly which I think it more beneficial.
Thanks for clarifying all this folks, especially before our game tonight.
JesterOC
--- End quote ---
I don't want to be a spoilsport but I'm asking myself if this isn't indeed a tag. ???
Take the example on YS 106, headline Tagging:
Harry assesses an aspect via skill roll and is due to a tag.
This tag is spend as +2 dice roll. Harry doesn't spend a fate point because it's a free tag.
"This is clearly to the Shadowman's detriment, but since the tag was free for Harry, the Shadowman doesn't get a fate point."
If I'm not mistaken, Voldy's aspect Shattered Ribs wasn't tagged so I think the GM could rule that tripping off Voldy counts as a tag without a fatepoint for him.
Doc Nova:
+2 to a roll, or a reroll, as an invoke (or a tag, which is a free invoke) is not the same as denying an action (such as falling down, which denied movement, in this case). That is the realm of compels. At least as I see them.
Miso:
I can live with that but I wanted to have it clarified.
I think you can see it the other way round, too.
chrislackey:
* Igor attacks Dave. He has Fists at Great (+4), he rolls -1, so his effort is +3. Dave rolls Athletics (+2) to dodge, gets a +1, and also has effort +3. That means Igor hits. His claws are Weapon:4 so he does a 4-stress hit. Dave only has three spots on his track, so this would take him out. He decides to take a Mild Consequence instead (Nasty Scratches) which reduces it to a 2-stress hit, which he marks on his sheet.
I thought if you get a net "0," you miss. +3 for Igor, +3 for Dave. I'm confused.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version