Author Topic: Session notes & a question  (Read 2166 times)

Offline bcillustration

• Participant
    • View Profile
Session notes & a question
« on: July 26, 2010, 10:31:16 PM »
So we're 4 sessions in, our game based in a fictional Tulsa, OK. (well, 3 sessions and a character/ city creation session)

if anyone's interested, we post our notes at
http://tulsadresdenfiles.blogspot.com/

The Question:

anyone have any GM tips on how to throw in more compels? This is my first time GMing, and I think I'm doing pretty well so far, ( nobody has quit playing the game yet :)  but at the end of each session so far, everyone has pretty much the same amount of fate points they started with.

I guess I'm looking for a way to compel without railroading.

Thanks ahead of time yall!

OH ya, our team includes:
A white court Glampire,
A valkyr scion with a minor item of power,
A scion of haphestus ( a technomancer, a singular ability in our game, has been a walking plot point at times)
A talismancing FBI agent
a team of fresh young wardens
( both drafted during the red vamp war)

Offline Deadmanwalking

• Posty McPostington
    • View Profile
Re: Session notes & a question
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 10:56:35 PM »
The way a Compel works, well, it can't be railroading unless you abuse it. As long as you don't Compel someone with the same thing repeatedly after they refuse (or Compel anyone with something you know they won't do just to drop their FP down), it should be fairly workable.

Offline Todjaeger

• Conversationalist
  • Dresden Files Alpha Burn Playtester
    • View Profile
    • Butchered New Haven campaign site
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 04:52:21 AM »
The first question which comes to mind is, "what are the aspects the different characters have?" 

I ask because Fate point awards (and usage...) revolve all around Aspects essentially.