Author Topic: Different Times and Places  (Read 1651 times)

Offline Frank Frey

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Different Times and Places
« on: June 14, 2010, 09:27:25 PM »
Greetings,
My name is Frank Frey and while I'm new here, I've been playing and running RPG's for over 30 years.(I'm 61) I recently picked up the DFRPG PDF's and am looking forward to getting the books. I'm also of course a big fan of the series of novels and the TV show as well.
Anyway, I've always had a great love of history. I tend to concentrate on military history probably because I'm a Vietnam Veteran. Well, I was thinking about setting a Dresden Files Chronicle during another time and or place.
I began to wonder, for example, what the White Council as well as other groups were up to during WWII. There were a number of government sanctioned "occult research" groups. The most infamous being the Nazi Ahnenerbe Society. There was also the prewar Thule Society. But the Nazis weren't the only ones. There was supposedly a Japanese occult warfare group called Unit 831(not to be confused with the biowar research group Unti 731) as well as the Black Dragon Society. I'm sure there were other groups who were working for the Allies.
As for places, just imagine a Chronicle set in Victorian England. London, in that time period, would be an incredible place. Especially, if you through in such elements as Jack the Ripper, Springheel Jack, and the Golden Dawn.
The possibilities are endless and the FATE system is well suited to exploring them.

Frank Frey

Offline Papa Gruff

• Conversationalist
  • in omnia paratus!
    • View Profile
Re: Different Times and Places
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 09:59:40 PM »