Author Topic: Length  (Read 7594 times)

Offline Aakaakaak

• Posty McPostington
  • Kittens taste great and stay crunchy in milk!
    • View Profile
Re: Length
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2010, 08:13:05 PM »
This has been quite educational.

So
100k+ words = Novel
50k+ words = NaNo (Is NaNo basically a Novella? I'm new to that term.)

Did I miss one?
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" - Clarke
"Any sufficiently advanced magic is indistinguishable from technology." - Niven
"Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced." - Neurovore
"Sufficiently advanced technology my ass" - Dresden

Offline Enjorous

• Seriously?
  • Prince of the Gutter since 2010
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2010, 08:17:31 PM »
Vingette < 1000 words
Short Story 1,000-7,500 words
Novelette 7,500-20,000 words
Novella 20,000-50,000 words
Novel >50,000

That's how I've always heard it. But I wouldn't say any of those are quote typical unquote lengths.

NaNo is the abbreviation of National Novel Writing Month.
Kentucky Fried Shuriken - Finger Lickin' Death.
Quote from: horsehearted
Nah, women are just batshit crazy ALL the time!  :D
87.1% Dresden Pure rank: Nicodemus

Offline trboturtle

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
    • Trboturtle's writing pad
« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2010, 09:11:30 PM »
Stories will write themselves to some extent....

What I mean that some stories can't be filled out to a novel and others need to taken into a 100K word territory to be fully told. Good writers know when a story is told and when it needs to be fleshed out.

Short stories are generally strightforward plots, where everything in the story relates back to that idea. Novels allow for subplots, but even they are tied into to the main plot. Characters in short stories have to established quickly, while novels can take time to add layers to their characters.