Author Topic: Research  (Read 2122 times)

Offline T-Bone

• Lurker
    • View Profile
Research
« on: April 09, 2010, 10:40:31 PM »
Hello All,

I have been kicking around an idea for werewolf concept for a while now and it just sounds like a rehash of other peoples stories and settings.  Alot of that is due to reading lots of novels and RPGs like Werewolf the Apocalypse. 
So I thought it might be good to get back to the roots of the legends rather than looking at someone elses interpratation of the subject.
This is proving to be a bit more difficult than I had expected and I was hoping that some of you guys might have some suggestions.

Thanks in advance! :)

Offline Enjorous

• Seriously?
  • Prince of the Gutter since 2010
    • View Profile
Re: Research
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2010, 11:09:20 PM »
Well, I'm no expert on the werewolf, but I know that one of the places that the legends started was in Western Europe, specifically France. But you can find shape shifting stories in almost every culture. I'd suggest looking into mythology texts at a local bookstore and see what you turn up.

I know it's not terribly much but I hope it helps a little.
Kentucky Fried Shuriken - Finger Lickin' Death.
Quote from: horsehearted
Nah, women are just batshit crazy ALL the time!  :D
87.1% Dresden Pure rank: Nicodemus

Offline Nickeris86

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 11:52:35 PM »
yeah most every culture has a form of were-critter of some form, most of them are the tradinal blood thirsty monster that eats babies and rapes virgen girls, then eats them. there are some however that are actually wise nature spirets or guardians. you can always make your own mythose for your werewolves and not worry if it sounds simaler to anyone elses cause its going to happen no matter what. it all dependes on what you want the focuse of the story to be.