Author Topic: Relevant Magic...  (Read 2358 times)

Offline Madmacabre

• Participant
    • View Profile
Relevant Magic...
« on: April 12, 2010, 05:37:52 PM »
Hello all...

As a starter, I am not experienced with the FATE/FUDGE system, which may explain my level of confusion.

This said, I got some question with regards to the mechanics of the evocation system.

When using evocation to create an attack, the system is well comprehensible. You select the power level, you pay the stress, you roll to see if you can control the spell and voilą! Similarity, the shield/block mechanics are quite simple.

Where I got confused is when using Evocation Magic to create the "other" magical effect, which falls under the Maneuver category.

So, let's say one of the PC decides to cover one of his target in WEB/CHAINS/SLIME to essentially root him in place. Using the Evocation mechanics, he would build up a spell that would put a temporary "Rooted" aspect on his target. Clear enough...

Where I get confused is when considering the actual effect on the target.

So, if I understand the rules correctly, the only effect suffered by the target is the fact that he has a "rooted" temporary aspect on him. To push this argument one step further, he only suffer from the situation if someone tags his temporary aspect.

Is that right?

After creating a number of characters to test the rules, I noticed that spell casters are especially low on Fate Points. So putting temporary aspects on targets are close to useless. Therefore the whole Maneuver category of evocation spells may not be as useful.

What am I missing?

Thanks for the help guys!

Offline Korwin

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: Relevant Magic...
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 05:43:14 PM »
The first use of an Aspect (after finding or creating it) is free.

Offline Madmacabre

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 05:50:04 PM »
Oh,very good point. I forgot about that one.