Author Topic: A quick question regarding Genre  (Read 2745 times)

Offline Slapdaddy

• Participant
    • View Profile
A quick question regarding Genre
« on: January 20, 2010, 04:51:13 AM »
Newbie here so hope this is posted in the right place.
Anyway,
If a story revolves around a fake fantasy element (for example, a group of kids pulling a complex hoax and convincing classmates they are werewolves/possessed/whatever), but nothing actually fantastical going on...same old world and same old people... is it considered fantasy? And if not, what?
Thanx in advance,
Eddie
The huge golden space ship hung in the air in almost exactly the way a brick doesn't. - Douglas Adams

Offline Sebastian

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
Re: A quick question regarding Genre
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 10:10:50 AM »
Is the story funny? Scary? Dramatic? Is it an obvious fakery? Are they doing it to conceal a crime?
Is there romance?

"I'm sorry, I'd like to help but I'm currently doing something very important. However, I could finish today and as soon as I'm done I'll do everything in my power to help you"
- How to promise help you have no intention of giving.

Offline Slapdaddy

• Participant
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2010, 01:48:26 PM »
The story has an action / adventure feel with heavy fantasy / mythological overtones. there might be some humor and there will be a romance line but that is definitely secondary in the story. I foresee it being kind of dark. (actually, now that I think about it there will be at least 2 scenes that will have fairly nasty deaths)
To the reader it is an obvious fakery but not to the characters who are being lied to.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2010, 01:53:59 PM by Fat Eddie »
The huge golden space ship hung in the air in almost exactly the way a brick doesn't. - Douglas Adams

Offline Starbeam

• Posty McPostington
  • Twitter: @stellamortis
    • View Profile
    • Stella Mortis
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2010, 01:53:26 PM »