Author Topic: Copyright!. Help me please. does anyone have this knowledge?  (Read 1750 times)

Offline Gritti

• Participant
    • View Profile
Copyright!. Help me please. does anyone have this knowledge?
« on: September 05, 2009, 12:12:25 AM »
Being an absolutely new author I'll admit I don't know much about the business of writing.  Could someone explain how a copyright works very simply?  Also when is it smart to get a copyright for your work?  Does the publisher do that once the book is edited to its final form?  I'm completely lost on this.  Please help me. ???
« Last Edit: September 07, 2009, 05:11:09 PM by Gritti »

Offline Gritti

• Participant
    • View Profile
Re: Copyright!. Help me please. does anyone have this knowledge?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 05:17:55 PM »
Okay, first off let me apologize for not realizing that there was a difference between copyright and copywrite.  After days of no response on this I picked up a book on the subject and it was brought to my attention that I'd spelled copyright wrong and that might be why nobody responded.  I corrected the spelling in the subject box.  Personally I think nobody responded 'cause the subject was rather dull. And theres always Google, Anyway confusion over.  Lesson learned.

Offline Darwinist

• Conversationalist
    • View Profile
    • Socially Transmitted Disease
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 07:27:46 PM »
not really, go back in the history of this forum... it's been brought up several times before...

http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,13033.0.html
about copyrighting your materials

http://www.jimbutcheronline.com/bb/index.php/topic,12929.0.html
about someone else's copyrights (locations, places, etc)